DIORSKIN NUDE BB CREME (FAIR 002)

Good evening lovelies!

I’ve been experimenting with BB creams and lighter foundations, because I’m getting tired of heavy and full-coverage complexion products. I’m a firm believer in the idea of “less is more” when it comes to foundation.

That said, I still crave the benefits of foundation, i.e. blurring minor imperfections, brightening, and making my skin tone more even (it’s not that uneven to begin with but I like looking flawless). Lately I’ve been noticing that it’s a real challenge to acheive the light, dewy fresh look that I want and still get those benefits. That’s where the DiorSkin Nude BB Creme comes in.

BB creams (short for beauty or blemish creams) are like tinted moisturizers on steroids. In addition to hydrating and evening out skin tones, BB creams also treat the skin with antioxidants or other anti-aging ingredients, plus offer broad-spectrum SPF.

I’ve tried quite a few BB creams recently, with mixed results; some were just downright awful (Garnier), some were pretty damn good but not suited to my skin type (Dr. Jart), and some were AMAZINGLY good but I couldn’t find a decent color match (Tarte).

dior-bb-cream

The Dior BB cream is what I was hoping all the others would be; it’s definitely light coverage, there is no doubt about that. It DOES NOT hide major complexion problems, but it DOES provide enough to brighten and even out my skin tone really well. I found that, when combined with a good concealer and a good finishing powder, it did exactly what I wanted, without looking too heavy or artificial. And here’s the best part – it actually STAYED looking fresh and pretty, all day.

Often BB creams start out well for me, but once the day progresses and the natural oil in my skin begins to react with the product, it either breaks down and begins to look patchy or streaky, becomes heavy and cakey, or oxidizes into some thoroughly unnatural color (usually it turns the same shade of orange/copper as my hair). Disgusting. I’m happy to report that this did none of those things and it held up to the needs of my skin amazingly well. It set beautifully and did not transfer or smear, but still remained fresh and dewy looking. I wore it for a good 13 hours and at no point did it look like I was wearing a ton of foundation. I was SO happy with that.

I was very concerned about the color as “fair” was just a bit too dark for me, but I ended up buying it anyway. After a few weeks of use, I found that it really did blur and diminish the appearance of imperfections, and more importantly did not settle into and emphasize them.

I do have to admit that I was worried about the high SPF factor in this product. I have found that products with high SPF either irritate my skin, smell awful, sting my eyes, or bring out redness in my skin that wouldn’t have existed otherwise. I had none of those problems with this product.

While I hate that it’s $45 a tube, I have to grudgingly admit that it’s worth it. It’s also a major plus that it comes with an actual pump like you’d find on a bottle of liquid foundation, so you don’t have to play the guessing game when it comes to figuring out how much product you need.

Bottom line? This is an amazing product, and a great introduction to the BB market. So glad I took the plunge and gave it a try.

Leave a Reply

