MAC PAINTPOTS

Good evening lovelies!

I’d like to think of myself as being well-versed in all things makeup, but to be completely honest, I’m not very talented when it comes to eyeshadow. Whenever I try to apply it, even when using a primer, it creases, folds, smudges, fades, or all of the above. The finished application is never as pretty as I’d like it to be. After continuously disastrous results, I was about to give up on eyeshadow entirely, until I discovered cream eyeshadow, all thanks to an SA at the MAC store that recommended I try their Paintpots.

Paintpots are exactly what they sound like – they’re little pots of cream eyeshadow that can be painted onto the lids with either the fingers or a brush. In all honesty I didn’t even hesitate to buy these when the SA suggested them to me, because I so desperately wanted to achieve the bright-eyed look you can only get with eyeshadow.

rubenesque

Strangely enough, I find that, unlike most products, these actually go on better when applied with the fingers because the heat warms up the product and allows it to glide onto the eyelids with ease. Add that to the ease of application, and I was sold. I decided to pick up two colors: Bare Study and Rubenesque.

Bare Study is a beautifully shimmery pearl color which, although it looks subtle in the pot, is actually quite intense when applied, so you only need a little bit to achieve a brightening effect. This is a phenomenal shade for fair skinned gals because it is a dead-on match for porcelain/light skin tones, so it makes a statement and is noticeable without making your lids look like you had a bad run-in with glitter.

Rubenesque, on the other hand, is a dark champagne, almost bronze color with significantly less shimmer than Bare Study. Buying this color was a bit of a gamble for me, as I had no idea how it would turn out on my lids. I think it’s important to mention that my lids are neither dry nor oily, but do tend to look a bit dark and sleep-deprived, so choosing a dark-toned eyeshadow was seriously a leap of faith.

 Ultimately, this color came out amazingly well, and did a fantastic job of not only brightening my eyes, but bringing the green in them out as well! If you have gold flecks in your eye color (hazel-eyed gals, that means you), Rubenesque is the perfect compliment to gold and really draws it out to give them more dimension in color. Bright-eyed and awake is what I was going for, and that’s exactly what I got!

Paintpots run about $20, but they last for about 3 years, so they are an amazing value.

If regular eyeshadow isn’t working for you, paintpots are the way to go!

2 thoughts on “MAC PAINTPOTS

Leave a Reply

