YVES SAINT LAURENT FUSION INK FOUNDATION (B10)

Good morning lovelies!

I absolutely adore winter beauty – everything feels so glowing and ethereal, and you don’t have to pile on the product, as opposed to the summer season where you practically slather on highlighter and bronzer to try and replicate a tan without actually hanging out in the sun. On most winter days, I just throw on some foundation, a little blush, and a killer lip color and I’m out the door.

A lot of foundations claim to provide a fresh, effortless wintery glow year round, but no foundation that I’ve tried thus far even comes close to beating out Yves Saint Laurent’s Fusion Ink Foundation.

YSL describes the Fusion Ink foundation as a featherweight foundation that suits every skin type. Its innovative hybrid stain technology provides a lightweight yet high-coverage formula, and its exclusive extendable polymers offer buildable coverage that lasts for a flawless finish. Special sweat and sebum-controlling agents allow for 24-hour of coverage, even through humidity or heat, and its sensorial and volatile dry oil complex allows it to set in seconds. Formulated with pure-micro-coated pigments, it delivers lasting, radiant color, and the face-zoning applicator allows you to perfectly apply it to the face for precise, easy-to-use application that’s never cakey or heavy.

fusion-ink-foundation

After messing around with it for a little while, I finally figured out the best form of application is via what I like to call “war stripes” – one swipe each down the cheeks, nose, chin, and forehead, and your face is covered completely without looking cakey. I think a brush is best to blend this stuff, but some people like using their hands because their body heat warms up the dry oil in it and helps the foundation spread. Either way, as long as it’s blended well, the application looks flawless and like a second skin.

I originally purchased this as sort of an impulse buy – I originally had my eye on the DiorSkin Nude BB cream, but after a quick chat with an SA at Nordie’s I was recommended the Fusion Ink Foundation. I had told her that I wanted something with light to medium coverage, a satin to dewy finish, and an SPF rating of at least 15.

My skin is pretty non-descript; I have perfectly content skin (neither dry, combination, nor oily), I hardly ever break out, I hardly ever get redness, and my skintone is usually even, complexion products aside. I usualy always go for light coverage foundations since I don’t really require anything heavier, with the exception of “that time of the month,” which is why I wanted something that could be built up to medium coverage just in case. My only other issue, and it’s not even really issue, is that I’m pale to the point of looking like a corpse, so finding a correct color match and something that will make me look alive is super important.

On my skin, the Fusion Ink foundation is most definitely a medium coverage product. It covers literally anything and everything that I need it to cover, to the point where I don’t even need to use concealer. I’ve also found that this product does a really good job of adding extra dimention to my cheekbones, and that’s huge for me – coupled with the Kat Von D’s “Sombre” bronzer, I have razor sharp cheekbones that still look natural. What more could I ask for?!

This stuff comes in like a million different shades, of which mine is B10, the lightest shade for cool undertones. If I get any more tan, I’ll probably switch to BD10, which is the same shade just for warm undertones. This is definitely a foundation to get shade matched for if you’re unsure, though, because if you choose a shade that’s too light or too dark you’ll end up looking like a cast member from Jersey Shore or like Edward Scissorhands.

This sucker is pricy at $60 for less than an ounce, but because of the application with the wand thing, it lasts me for about 6 months at a time. You can pick it up at Sephora, Nordstrom’s, or Neiman Marcus.

The only foundation I’ve found that rivals this lately is the Marc Jacobs Re(marcable) Foundation, but since it’s consistently out of stock in my shade, I keep falling back on Fusion Ink to hold me over.

Leave a Reply

