LANCOME HYPNOSE STAR MASCARA

Good evening lovelies!

There’s nothing I love more than a jaw-dropping, eye-opening, traffic-stopping mascara. Seriously, if your mascara is on point, your whole look pulls together infititely better. Since there are so many mascaras to choose from in this day and age, you really have to do a bit of leg work to figure out which one will work for you.

Unless, of course, you buy a set like the Sephora Lash Stash, which comes with 10, yes TEN, different deluxe-sample sized high-end mascaras for your experimental pleasure. The Lash Stash was the easiest $45 I’ve ever spent. I love literally every mascara that came in this set, but some definitely performed better than others. The Lancome Hypnose Star Mascara was one of the ones I liked the least.

lancome-hypnose-star-mascara

This mascara was actually the first product I’ve ever tried from Lancome; they are mostly known for their foundations and skincare, but, since I’m usually always set in both of those departments, I didn’t go out of my way to try either, so the mascara was a good introduction to the brand for me.

First of all, the brush on this baby (or at least on one side of it) is massive, and I do mean massive. It’s actually so big that it becomes rather difficult to hold onto it steadily during application (and to avoid stabbing yourself in the eye). It’s very bulky on one side, but teeny-tiny on the other. I’m not sure what purpose this serves, but the product always pools at the tiny end which is a huge waste.

The consistency of the mascara is super liquidy – as in you have to wait about a full minute before you can even think about blinking. If you don’t wait long enough, the product will transfer to your lower lids and give you raccoon eyes. Ick.

Despite the amount of work that goes into applying this mascara, I actually do like the color payoff. The color is a striking, deep jet black color that imparts the kind of volume and definition that you typically only see in falsies. It doesn’t wear long at all though, which in my mind, gives it more cons than pros when combined with the formula and wand design.

Thank God I got this in that set, otherwise I would’ve been upset at dropping close to 30 bucks for it. Nothing ventured, nothing gained.

 

Leave a Reply

