MAKE UP FOR EVER ULTRA HD FOUNDATION (Y205)

Good evening lovelies!

I have what can only be described as an addiction to liquid foundations – I’ve tried about a million of them and my collection keeps on growing. There’s just something about the way liquid foundation can be blended to airbrushed perfection as opposed to powder or cream foundations that just keeps me coming back for more.

Having used Make Up For Ever’s HD Foundation for a long time only to have it be reformulated, I decided to branch out further into the MUFE line and try the MUFE Ultra HD Foundation in Y205 (they added “ultra” to make it seem more hella than the original).

While I didn’t really “need” a new foundation per say, I’ve been in the process of completely revamping my makeup collection for the winter months. I tend to only change up the colors of my lip, eye, and cheek products for the various seasons, but this year I was in the mood to try something a little different.

make-up-for-ever-ultra-hd-foundation

I’ve had excellent luck with virtually all MUFE makeup that I’ve tried, so of course my first thought was to try this new formulation from them as opposed to switching to another brand entirely, especially since I know my shade is Y205 in pretty much all of their complexion products and it’s a picture perfect match for me.

MUFE claims the Ulra HD foundation is “developed specifically for the film and TV industry’s most advanced technology. Ultra HD Liquid Foundation creates a naturally flawless complexion—on and off camera. Completely invisible under the latest, super-focused 4k lens, this revolutionary foundation features uniquely-coated pigments that provide medium-to-buildable coverage with an even lighter weight, second-skin texture that looks just like skin.”

This foundation feels relatively thick when you first pump it onto your hand, but once blended it is actually quite sheer. Where one usually needs about 3-4 pumps of foundation to cover the face, neck, and decollate, I found that I only needed 1-2 pumps of HD to accomplish the same job. This product feels phenomenal on the skin – it’s very breathable and just looks entirely natural, as if it’s still your skin (but better).

The HD foundation wears for at least 8 hours without budging, and at no point does it take on the dreaded mask-like feel or oxidize into a completely different color from when you first applied it. I have worn this out in bad weather and even with my face splashed by rain it still held strong and didn’t smudge one bit. My shade, Y205, is one of 40, yes 40 (praise!) shades offered, and is the lightest of the line, where R540 is the darkest.

My favorite thing about this product, aside from how well it wears, is how well it photographs; this product is basically the real-life equivalent of the skin smoothing feature in Photoshop. It seems to make contours appear more defined in pictures, and adds a subtle radiance to other complexion products like blush and bronzer.

Considering the fact that I didn’t really buy this foundation for any specific reason other than wanting to change up my routine, I am highly impressed with it and would recommend it to virtually anyone with virtually any skin type or skin tone.

Leave a Reply

