LUSH “BIG” SHAMPOO

Good evening lovelies!

It may be hard to believe, but I’m actually pretty simple when it comes to the things I look for in a shampoo. Like most people, I expect a halfway decent shampoo to allow my hair the opportunity to do three things: look good, smell good, and feel good. You’d think these things wouldn’t be too much to ask for, yet here I am, a product junkie drowning in subpar shampoos. That said, every once in a while I stumble upon one that actually does give me my three requirements, such as Big, a clarifying sea salt shampoo from Lush.

lush-big-shampoo

Lush is notorious for its all natural, vegan-friendly products, and it consistently delivers fantastic results to boot. Most of their shampoos actually come in the form of a solid bar, but Big is one of the few that is housed in a sealable, black, biodegradable container.

I originally came across Big in November of 2014 while trying to find a replacement for my Bumble and Bumble Sunday Shampoo. This was the first product I had ever tried from Lush aside from their bath bombs, so I did a little research on Big and found mostly positive reviews as far as its ability to do what it claims, so I took the plunge and paid $28 for an 11.4oz container.

I used Big off and on for about a year and a half, and recently returned to it because none of the other clarifying shampoos I’ve used in that time have given my hair the clean slate I’ve been looking for the way Big does. This bad boy is super clarifying, meaning you should only use it once a week, if not less – this stuff is like pure sea salt, so a little goes a long way and overuse will turn your hair to straw.

The scent is a very light, clean fragrance, and is probably the freshest out of any of the lines Lush offers, which means it doesn’t clash with perfume. Big actually smells like a combination of BVLGARI Omnia Crystalline and Abercrombie and Fitch Perfume No. 1 Undone, which is ironic because I actually wear both of those perfumes so having a hair product that smells like their lovechild was a nice little surprise.

The consistency of the product, literal chunks of sea salt mixed with lemon juice, is easily distributed throughout the hair and does a really thorough job of cleansing, as well as rinsing cleanly with no residue. I typically only used a nickel-sized amount at most. I definitely felt like my hair was getting clean, and the lather was phenomenal. You have to get this stuff a little wet, though, before applying it, otherwise you’ll have large grains of salt sitting in your strands until they dissolve.

After rinsing, my hair felt like straw, but that’s to be expected when you put salt on your head. I always follow this guy up with a heavy deep conditioner – lately it’s been either my Obliphica Seaberry Mask (go read my review on that if you haven’t yet) or my MorroccanOil Intense Hydrating Mask. Big gets rid of literally everything and anything built up in your hair and on your scalp, so you need to seriously hydrate afterwards to make sure you don’t dry out. There is an accompanying solid conditioner for Big, but I absolutely hated it and couldn’t get it to rinse out of my hair for about a week. Yuck.

Once my hair was dry, I was really taken aback by how soft, supple, and voluminous my hair looked and felt. It was very light, airy, and had a really nice, subtle beach type wave to it, so I can definitely see why they chose sea salt to be the main attractor. If such a high concentration of sea salt is an issue for you, however, Lush just came out with another product called Jersey Bounce, which is literally just Big without all the extra drama.

On a side note, I recently started using Lush’s Ocean Salt, which basically does for the face what Big does for the hair. It and their Rub Rub Rub salt scrub for the body will have me all set for exfoliation from head to toe during these upcoming gross spring and summer days!

Leave a Reply

