STILA AQUA GLOW WATERCOLOR BLUSH (WATER BLOSSOM)

Good evening lovelies!

Now that the days are shorter, there’s less time for me to try and get a sad excuse for a natural tan, which means I’m starting to revert back into what I call my “winter ghost mode.” I’m actually pretty pale all year long, even during the summer, so as a fair-skinned ginger with light eyes, it’s really difficult for me to find blushes, from any company, that don’t clash with my natural coloring.

Everything comes out either too ruddy, muddy, or fake looking – I’ve almost been inclined a few times to just abandon the concept of wearing blush. Enter in Stila’s Aqua Glow Watercolor Blush in Water Blossom.

stila-aqua-glow-watercolor-blush

For a while, this is used to be the only blush I owned, so naturally I was obsessed with it. If I remember correctly, this was also one of the first blushes I ever bought, long before I became obsessed with NARS palettes. I also have to say, for a long time I was just in love with the “idea” of this blush, as it doesn’t look too bright nor too opaque. Usually blush shows up way too vibrantly on my skin so I have to use a really light hand when applying it. Since I was tired of looking like a corpse but didn’t want to go down the fake tan route, I decided to add blush into my routine, and that’s what landed Water Blossom in my collection.

Water Blossom caught my eye immediately upon visiting the Stila blush station. It’s absolutely gorgeous in the pan, and made me instantly think “Wow, that’s so pretty, I need it.” I wasn’t sure what the color trade-off would be on my fair skin, but I figured it was worth a shot to test it out. It looks like a really vibrant fuchsia, but on the skin it’s actually pretty subtle, though I attribute part of that to the fact that it’s more like a gel-cream hybrid formula so that alone guarantees it to be sheer.

Upon applying a swatch to my wrist (this is the most true to color part of your body as it shows your skin’s undertones), and after using it for quite some time, I noticed a few things that I have yet to see with any of my other blushes, past or present.

Water Blossom behaves more like a sheer tone frost, meaning one layer shows on your skin right away yet is shimmery. However, if you put on more layers it becomes quite frosty. The texture is thicker than any other blush I’ve owned – more than a layer and the frost highlights large pores, wrinkles, and uneven skin. I adore the color but I’m not in love with the coarse texture quality.

This is also by far the most densely-packed blush I’ve ever come across, which is annoying because I dislike having to rub my blush brush vigourously over the surface to pick up enough color. From what I’ve heard, one of the biggest issues people have with Water Blossom is that it’s either too opaque or simply won’t “show up” on certain skin tones. This is a very pale pink blush, and is meant primarily to brighten your complexion rather than paint your face.

This blush is decidedly sheer but buildable. However, building this shade too much will make it become overly luminous, especially when applied on a finished made-up face. I didn’t really notice this issue on bare skin, but on skin with foundation it gets a bit too frosty for my liking.

After a bit of experimenting and a few new additions to my blush collection, I found the best of use of this formula is as a “top coat” on a powder blush. To achieve this, you would need to put your brightest blush color on the apple of your cheek, then blend upwards with Water Blossom, which should add a nice, subtle glow to the finished look.

If you are one of those people who find that most blushes seem to oxidize or make your skin look muddy, you should consider Water Blossom, especially if your skin is fair. Though it goes on as a purplish pink in the morning, the blue in this manages to retain its pinkness rather than having it oxidize into peach by the end of the day.

I was really “ride or die” with this for a long time, but now that NARS is in my life, I’ve moved on to bigger and better things. I think this is a great one for beginners, so if colors like “Orgasm” are a bit too much to handle right from the start, Water Blossom acts as a great segway into the blush game.

Leave a Reply

